Oven Baked Potato Wedges

Hi! I haven’t dropped off the face of the earth! Just terribly busy painting and wrapping up Liam’s school year. Life is slowing down now, and I am thankful for the rest.

In the midst of this, I’ve been trying new recipes. The ones I have, minus the ones I’ve posted on here, I really didn’t like. It was frustrating…they were too spicy, or too…something. I don’t know. After another failed attempt, my husband inspired wisdom on me.

Our diets are basically the same. We generally eat the same meals over and over and rotate them weekly, tossing in a new recipe every so often. I was going full force into this ‘plant based whole food thing’, that every meal I was making was new. This was good, as it broke me out of my comfort zone…but frustrating, when trying to find meals the entire family will enjoy.

The one thing is that mostly vegan dishes are spicier. So I’m learning that, when I’m making a soup or something that the kids will eat with us, I need to put theirs in a smaller pan and heat it unseasoned. Adam also had me list out the meals I like…doing that was helpful. I was able to see that I liked a LOT of vegan foods, not just the same four go-to’s. I’m a list girl; I need to have my lists!

Another thing I noticed on my list was that a lot of my meals that I liked were simple. Spaghetti with saute onions, rice dishes, anything potatoes, soups. I am a simple girl; I don’t need to have anything too fancy! That’s good to know, especially in meal planning and the budget!

Here is one recipe I found on Pinterest that was worth it to add to my recipe book. It’s simple, and my vegetarian friends can add parmesean cheese to it if you want. We liked it this way.

Oven Baked Potato Wedges

Take 4 good sized potatoes. Wash; cut them into wedges. This is best done by cutting the potatoes in half lengthwise then cutting the halves into thirds. Place potatoes in a bowl of ice water…let sit for 30 minutes.

Add into a gallon size ziploc bag: 1/4 tsp. salt, 1/4 tsp. pepper, 1/4 tsp. paprika, 1/4 tsp. parsley flakes (dried), and 1/4 tsp. garlic powder. Close it and shake it a little to mix it up. Drain the potatoes and pat dry with a napkin. Plop them into the baggie, seal, and shake. Then add 1/4 cup of olive oil to the bag. Shake again.

Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. This saves on dishes! Preheat your oven to 450, line the potatoes on the baking sheet evenly. Bake for 30 minutes, or until crispy and golden brown.

IMG_0465

Enjoy!

We paired ours with a healthy serving of broccoli. Meat eaters can pair it with a grilled burger, or any other meat. Next time we are gonna pair them with our smokey bean burgers. 🙂

Leave a Reply

