Vegan Pizza

The other day we had a family fun day!! We splurged and took the younger kids to see Home in theaters (it is really cute!!) and then made pizzas and watched the Kids’ Choice Awards on Nick (well, Danielle and I did, while Liam played Minecraft on the computer and Adam snoozed.) It was a good day, and the kids loved having pizza!!

We made the kids regular mini homemade pizzas. We bought a three pack of mini pizza crusts, pizza sauce, cheese, and pepperoni. Although Adam and I eat vegan, the kids enjoy the classics and we don’t really make them eat the way we do, unless I’m making a dish that I know they’ll love (like potato soup!)

But we made our pizza a little differently:

We got:

  • 2 Whole Wheat Pizza Crusts (I think Mamma Mia brand…$3)
  • 1 jar Classico Fire Roasted Pizza Sauce ($1.75)
  • Chopped tomatoes
  • 1/2 bag frozen pepper and onion stir fry
  • a light brush of olive oil on each crust

We topped our pizzas and baked them in a 425 degree oven for 8 minutes or so, until the kids’ cheese melted and ours was the exact 8 minutes.

So…how was it? Well, it was good. It definitely was a different flavor without the cheese, and a little more hard to hold by having the thin whole wheat crust, but I didn’t feel like I was missing out too much. I enjoyed a smoothie afterward so I feel like I got my reward!

Whether you make your pizza vegan style, vegetarian style, or meat lover’s style, it’s definitely more cost effective and healthier to make it homemade! Yes, it takes a little more time of prepwork (not just a phone call away), but it’s fairly simple if you buy the premade crusts, and definitely not as greasy as the pizza companies are!

IMG_0276

*** Update: Altho I liked my homemade Vegan Pizza, we did order out at Papa John’s yesterday. The kids got regular cheese, sausage, and pepperoni, and Adam and I got a regular crust, regular sauce, green pepper and onion pizza (he added mushrooms to his side of the pizza). I liked it so much better. Just something about pizza store pizza. The crust was thicker so it was more substantial than my homemade one. My only complaint is I should of gotten a little more sauce on it… but, that’s my favorite thing of pizza anyways, so that’s always my opinion! 🙂

Leave a Reply

