Declutter Tip: Make the Time

This is the most important declutter tip, so I saved it for last. We have to make the time to declutter. Looking at an overfilled drawer or a pile of clothes to go through may be intimidating and overwhelming. We may just want to bury our heads in the sand and go escape online instead. But we’ll never get past it if we don’t face it!

Set a timer and go through your pile. Give yourself 15 minutes, no more, no less. When the timer dings, you are done. Give yourself one project, for example: “Today I’m going to tackle my closet!” and only declutter that for the 15 minutes. Stay on that project (say, the closet) until it is done (so if you haven’t finished the closet in the fifteen minutes, then tomorrow when you set the timer, that is what you work on. Keep doing that until that job is completed, then, find another area to declutter).

Another idea is to purge one thing a day. That way, at the end of the year, you will have gotten rid of 365 things! One a day seems very small, until you look at it in the year time frame. Some people put a donation box in their basement, where it’s out of sight, but easily accessible to deposit their one item. I tend to keep stuff in my trunk, that way when I’m out, I can drop it off. This is handy, but also a pain when I forget to drop off my donation bag and then we do a huge grocery shopping trip!!

Some people purge when they get something new. So if they get a new shirt, they get rid of a shirt they don’t like. That’s a good idea, if you have the discipline to do it. I never could! What works best for one person doesn’t always work best for another, that’s why it’s great that there are different ideas!

This exercise is a lesson in God’s provision. Someone the other day gave me a bag of clothes that will fit my daughter Danielle. They are just her style, and she was needing some things. Our kitchen table collapsed, and a friend who flips houses found one in the house she was flipping, and is giving it to me. We certainly don’t ‘give to get’, but as we are generous, God will make sure that our needs are met.

Anyways, as I type this, my teenage son’s room is overflowing with yard sale stuff for May. My new-to- homeschooling-mom friend has a box with her name on it, full of stuff that her son can use. I’ve dropped off about 6 garbage bags (33 gallon) full of clothes to the homeless shelter, and I’ve given other items to friends who needed or liked the items. I don’t say this to pat myself on the back; actually, it shows how much stuff we have, and how much we can part with if we just make the time.

Leave a Reply

