Don’t Fear the Flax!

My vegetarian friend, who is also pregnant, confided to me that she ate chicken a couple of weeks ago, from the student cafeteria on campus where she works. “I didn’t like it,” she admitted, “but I was craving the protein.”

So I told her what I heard through the grapevine of online research, to make a smoothie before leaving home and add ground flax seed in it. I told her I found some at Walmart for $3.88 or something, and that I was going to try it also.

But I didn’t!

You see, I’m a giant chicken when it comes to trying new foods! I don’t know why! But I have been breaking out of that shell now since I began this plant based whole food diet, and it’s mostly been beneficial, where I’ve liked most of the dishes I’ve created.

But something about flaxseed, well, it reminds me of fiber. Or wheat germ or other weird stuff that weird people put in their foods. You know….people like me!!!

Well, guess what? She tried it and said that you can’t barely tell it’s in there. So, I manned up and put 1 tbsp. in my next smoothie. You know what? She was right! It wasn’t scary, and I really couldn’t tell the difference.

IMG_0205

So I took the plunge! I’ve been adding a tbsp. of flax seed into all of my smoothies now. It’s a good source of protein, fiber, has anticancer benefits, can prevent type 2 diabetes….it’s just a great thing! So simple to add a little tbsp. a day to better health!

2 thoughts on “Don’t Fear the Flax!

  1. philliciaritch March 23, 2015 / 9:05 pm

    I have never tried flax seed. I have taken flax seed oil supplements. I am going to have to try this. You on this diet is giving me some great information and ideas!

    Like

    • Maria March 24, 2015 / 12:30 pm

      It has given me some good ideas too!! It was worth it to break out of my shell a little bit and try new things. And you really can’t tell the flax seed is in there, which is good. AND it makes me feel better about indulging in smoothies!! 🙂 Let me know if you try it and what you think! The bag at Walmart was $3.88 or something but it’s been a month and I’ve barely made a dent in it (and I eat smoothies almost daily now!)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

