You Know You are a Mom When…

…you are really sick, nausea, headache, chills…..and you get this text from your fourteen year old:

Funny-kid-meme-1

…and from this goes on to a half hour of random picture texts and goofy replies. Common sense says to just tell him that I’m sick tonight, that I love him but I can’t text because the room is spinning and I feel like I’m going to hurl.

But my heart says to keep the conversation going, and send a few pictures back myself.

Because he’s fourteen, and I don’t want to lose this conversation. I don’t know how many more I’ll have like this. Once the busyness of teenager-hood, afterschool jobs, girls….will he still send his mom random texts?

I hope so.

But if not, I’ll savor everyone I get, spinny head or not.

One thought on “You Know You are a Mom When…

  1. philliciaritch March 2, 2015 / 10:26 pm

    Ain’t it the truth. My son is now 16. I started thinking when he was about 14 how many more Christmases and Thanksgivings I had before he was gone. Sigh! Why do they have to grow up so quickly?

    Like

Leave a Reply

