Yellow Rice

“There has to be another way!” I thought as I put several boxes of Zattarain’s Yellow Rice in my cart. This alone would equal $6, the cost of a ten pound bag of rice.

I’ve managed to make plain white or brown rice, and even “spicing it up” a little with veggie broth instead of using water. But it’s still not amazing….I like a little flavor.

Putting the boxes back on the shelves, Adam and I found a recipe online. Tweaking it for my convenience and my family, here it is:

IMG_0161

Yellow Rice: Serves 4-6. Based on 4 servings, it’s 175 calories

  • 3/4 tsp. ground tumeric
  • 1/2 tsp. ground cumin
  • pinch cinnamon
  • 3 cups of water
  • 1 tbsp. butter (Vegan Option: Earth Balance Butter)
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 1/2 cups white long grain rice or basmati rice
  • 2 tbsp. diced scallions (or some chopped onion if you don’t have scallions)

In a medium saucepan, heat tumeric, cumin, and cinnamon over low heat until fragrant, stirring, about 30 seconds. Add water, salt, butter, scallions and bring to a boil. Add rice and stir well. Cover, reduce heat to bare simmer, and cook covered, without stirring, for 20 minutes.

Remove from heat, let sit, covered 5 minutes or so. Fluff with fork.

It tastes just as good and from a financial standpoint, you are saving a lot more money than buying the prepackaged convenient rice. Since everything the recipe calls for I had on hand, it was a free dish for me, saving me $6 this month.

Leave a Reply

