Vegan Pancakes! Breakfast for Dinner!!

I don’t have a picture for these. But they look like regular pancakes.

I’ve never made homemade pancakes. I have always bought the box of premade pancake mix. Adam mentioned he wanted pancakes, and, regular pancake mix has eggs and milk in it. So I found this recipe. I had everything it called for! So it’s also a great go-to when money is tight and you don’t want to break into your kid’s piggy bank to pick up dinner!!

Best of all, you can’t even tell they are vegan. They taste exactly like regular pancakes!!

You need:

  • 1 1/4 cups all purpose flour
  • 2 tbsp white sugar
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 1/4 cups water
  • 1 tbsp oil (I used vegetable oil)

This makes 9 pancakes (give or take) so adjust the amounts as needed.

Sift the flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt in a large bowl. Whisk the water and oil together in a separate smaller bowl. Make a well in the center of the dry ingredients, pour in the wet ingredients. Stir until just blended; note, the mixture will be lumpy.

Heat a griddle over medium high heat. Drop batter by large spoonfuls onto the griddle and cook until bubbles form and the edges are dry. Flip, cook until browned.

Serve with pure maple syrup or Earth Balance Vegan Butter.

I don’t think I’ll have to buy boxed pancake mix again! Even though they have been giving me a hard time with my new diet/lifestyle change, the kids will eat this up, despite the fact that it’s vegan.

Leave a Reply

