The Heart of Our Clutter

Today I tackle the task of going through my son’s dresser drawers. Remember when I found 6 garbage bags full of clothes in the attic? Well, combine those ‘new to Liam’ clothes to his existing wardrobe, and his drawers are overflowing, so much so that he can’t get or put away his clothes, so I have to do it for him. Which is not a good lesson in responsibility, not only that he is unable to do his chores, but also in the excessive amount of clothing that he has that will not be worn.

The other day I went through my own closet and got rid of a bunch of clothes. I still have drawers to go through, which are also, overflowing. Much of what I had clothing wise I didn’t even really like…it was more of a, “what if I need it someday? what if I gain weight and need this size? what if I lose weight and need this size? I don’t really like this shirt, but what if I paint the bedroom and need painting clothes?Basically, what if…what if…what if!”

With Liam’s wardrobe too, my thoughts are quite similar: “What if we need to attend a funeral or wedding? He’ll need a nice outfit. What if we get family pictures done and everyone is wearing red. He’ll NEED this shirt. Or what if it’s blue? He’ll need this shirt too.”

Here is the heart of the issue: Do I trust God? Do I trust that He is enough? Do I trust that He will supply whatever we need, whether red or blue shirt?? I know this is silly in regards to clothing, but, is it? Is it really? If I’m holding onto something in fear, then I’m trusting in that item more than the God who supplies the items. 

This is what Jesus says about such things, as clothing:

 “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes?  Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life?

 “And why do you worry about clothes? See how the flowers of the field grow. They do not labor or spin.  Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these.  If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you—you of little faith?  So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’  For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.

I’m thankful that Jesus saw beyond the issue. It isn’t really the clothing, or the food…the deeper question in our hearts is, “Is God enough? Will He provide?” I love that He specifically addressed clothing and food. You see, I used to hoard food. I just bought and bought food because I thought, “What if I need food and can’t get out to get it?” Or the even more scary, “What if I run out of money and can’t get it?” Again with the ‘what if’s’.

I think it’s helpful to remember the times when God was enough…when He provided. I remember money being tight and not having much in food, and God provided groceries. My family and I were never without. Oftentimes, He provided healthier options than I could of afforded as well! Also, I can not remember a time ever needing an outfit or a clothing item for myself or my family and not having that need fulfilled.

So, while decluttering, what am I to do? Should I not plan ahead? Wisdom and balance are key. So yes, keep one pair of jeans that are a size larger, and keep one pair that are a size lower, just in case. Donate the rest. If you get to that point where you need the other size, God will make a way. Trust that He is enough. 

One thought on “The Heart of Our Clutter

  1. philliciaritch January 29, 2015 / 11:50 pm

    You are right! It is a matter of, “Is God enough?” I struggle daily with this in many areas. I threw away something the other day that I REALLY wanted to keep but I had no purpose for it. However, I remembered our conversation, marched straight to the trashcan, and threw it away. I almost dug it back out! Then I thought, “Nope, if I should ever need it, God will provide. That is my mustard seed action that I am trusting in him.” I am learning.

    Like

Leave a Reply

