Food Challenge

I guess I love a challenge. I don’t know. My decluttering challenge is still on and going strong, but I am adding a mini-challenge as well.

Food.

For the past seven months or so, my husband has become a vegan. Not only so, but something called a “starchavore”. He loads up on rice, potatoes, veggies, and fruits, and has completely given up meat, dairy, eggs, cheese. He has also limited his fat intake (He still uses PAM cooking spray at times and uses coffee creamer, but he doesn’t drench his potatoes in oil…that kinda thing.)

He has a lot more energy, has lost weight, and is very passionate about his new lifestyle.

I’ve always thought that starches, like potatoes and rice, were a woman’s worst enemy…but, I’m curious to see how this kind of diet would react in a woman. Two reasons, really. One, frugality. I’ve already cut my grocery budget by Adam taking on this new lifestyle, and I’m anticipating saving even more per month with this. Two, if it works and I lose weight and have more energy, it will debunk the theory of potatoes, rice, and the like are hazardous to your waistline. We shall see. What’s the worst that can happen? I can gain a few lbs and go low carb, right??

Within this challenge, I’m testing five things:

1. Did I save money? How much?

2. Is it doable? Realistically, for a busy mom? And how do I incorporate this kind of diet and still yet feed my children meat and dairy?

3. Did I lose weight? How much? or, did I gain weight?

4. How is my energy level?

5. How is my mood?

So we have two challenges going on at once on this blog! Confusing, huh? Got to keep it fun!! Stay with me as I declutter, and figure out this food thing!!

2 thoughts on “Food Challenge

  1. philliciaritch January 20, 2015 / 10:11 pm

    Try doing good carbs and not just white carbs. I have been intaking more whole grain carbs and I have found a lot of things I love because of it. Wheat pasta, wheat soda crackers, and wheat Ritz have become some of my favorite things. Keep us informed!

    Like

    • Maria January 21, 2015 / 12:13 am

      I agree Phillicia! I am actually doing a lot less than Adam does potato-wise, but am still eating more than I used to. I went online today and have found a few new recipes to try that involve other main portions, like couscous, beans, wheat pasta. I have to watch what I eat also because I have a sulfa allergy, and many processed foods and breads have sulfa in them. I can eat wheat pasta tho, and some crackers.

      Like

Leave a Reply

