Declutter Tip #2: Talk to Someone

My last decluttering tip was to use the library. However, another option, say you have a bunch of overdue fees and don’t enjoy the library, is to see if you can borrow the item from someone. I know someone who buys the latest Disney DVDs for their daughter as soon as they come out. Why not ask them if I can borrow the DVD before I make the decision to buy it? I can also make a quick Facebook inquiry about a video game they have been wanting to try, and see if any of my friends has it and will be willing to part with it for an afternoon or a few days. Most cases, they won’t mind (but may ask to see your DVD or game collection.)

If you know no such person who has the item that you are requesting (or if they live far away), do online reviews on the item. This is especially good with video games. IGN is a good website to find out what’s all in a game, why it’s rated what it’s rated, and has screen shots and demos of the game. If you are lucky enough to have a video game nerd as a friend or family, hit them up and ask them. My brother is my go-to guy on video games, especially for my oldest son, Troy. Troy is moving beyond fun, happy music Mario, where the most violence you see is shooting a fireball at Koopa, and would rather play a war game like his friends do. So I need to know why a game is rated what it’s rated, what I should watch out for, and if there are hidden things in the game that I wouldn’t want him to play. Having someone who is knowledgeable about such things being only a phone call, email, or text message away is very handy!

One thought on “Declutter Tip #2: Talk to Someone

  1. Do Not Disturb January 15, 2015 / 4:12 pm

    I’ve learned to trust my husband’s judgement when it comes to buying most things household/electronic/entertainment.

    I’ve always been a price point person and have often bought (or almost bought!) inferior products because the price point was more comfortable for me. He on the other hand would much rather get a better quality product for more money. It still bothers me from time to time but I have NEVER found his efforts and countless reading of reviews to lead our finances in a negative direction. I’ve even found myself buying products only if they have a number of 4 or 5 star reviews. Guess he’s rubbing off on me!

    Megan

    Like

Leave a Reply

