Out with the Old!

Hi everyone! I’m sorry I’ve been off the grid a little bit lately. Life has been crazy, and I’m trying to keep up! Anyways, I’m hoping now to return to regular blogging, and my focus still is on frugal living and joy in simplicity.

That’s why when I got this email from my friend Selena, I knew I had to join in her challenge!!

We are decluttering for 15 minutes a day, every day. Not only that, but in May, we are holding a joint yard sale together.

We both have goals for our yard sale funds; my goal is to get enough money gathered up to buy paint for my master bedroom, and maybe even enough to get more paint for our dining room. Spring and summer are great months to paint the interior of my house, and I keep putting off the much needed job!

We’ll be posting regularly our journey through this decluttering process. It’s a lot more than just getting rid of stuff. It’s deeper than that. It’s a trust issue. It’s a fear issue. It’s a faith issue. It’s a joy issue. It’s a stress and a peace issue.

I know I just did a similar challenge in November with my neighbor. It’s amazing how much stuff we can accumulate in such a short time.

As I’m going thru this process, there are some key questions I’m asking myself. Do I need it? Do I absolutely love it? What is it’s purpose? Why do I have it? So far the challenge has been easy, as it usually is in the beginning. Towards the end is when it gets harder to purge.

Also during this process, I’m not going to bring anything into my house, unless I need it or absolutely love it. I’m actually working on making that my goal anyways. Less stuff=less maitenance=a less stressful life!

2 thoughts on “Out with the Old!

  1. Jennifer Ellison January 7, 2015 / 2:17 pm

    I have a book you might find interesting…it is called “The Joy of Less” by Francine Jay. If you’ve not read it, I can give it to you the next time we have a playdate! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Maria January 7, 2015 / 2:44 pm

      Yes! I’d love to borrow it! Thanks Jennifer! πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

