What’s Our Motivation?

Who am I living for? God or Man? I have been contemplating this question.

We post things on social networking that get ‘likes’. If we don’t get the ‘thumbs up’, then we feel like what we posted was not good enough….and maybe we even feel a little rejected.

Or is that just me?

How many times have I battled within myself over something I said online?

“Should I remove it?”

“Why hasn’t anyone liked it?”

“I think it’s witty. It’s witty, isn’t it? How come no one else thinks it is?” 

“I’m going to remove it. I don’t want anyone to get the wrong idea. Oh wait, I got a like! Maybe I’ll keep it.”

On the other end of the conversation, my patient husband just shakes his head.

Truthfully, this is why my blog has been silent. I wonder who I write for. Well, I wonder lots of things. One, I know my blog isn’t big. Is it encouraging the few faithful followers who do read it? Or is it all for gain? Do I have something to help someone, or is it something we’ve all heard before. Two, who am I writing for? Do I need to pour my heart out to millions of people? Do I need to make my voice heard in cyberspace? If writing is therapeutic for me, which it is, then why can’t I just write privately? Why do I need to share the words on social media, whether on Facebook or on a blog site?

I’m not sure where I’m going with this. But it is where my heart is lately. In all things, I want to make sure that the goal is God’s approval, not people’s. I think sometimes the line can get blurry, and we need to reevaluate why we do what we do, and if we need to change something. This is where I’m at.

Leave a Reply

