Why Didn’t I Think of That?? Baked Apples

So my dilemma has been that I need to make healthier snack choices, but I feel limited because of my dietary restrictions. I’m trying to live a healthier lifestyle by making good choices, but I also have to figure in the sulfate allergy. My house is LOADED with Halloween candy, and the temptation is great! Because sometimes, I just want something sweet. (Ok really, who am I kidding? Sometimes?? Let’s be truthful here: ALL the time!!)

My husband suggested I try baked apples. He’s gone on a plant-based whole food diet (Yes, that means no meat, or meat byproducts. It really is a change in our house, and our grocery budget!!), and was making a pan already. It was simple, and delicious, and had me wondering, “Why didn’t I think of that?”

And while I’m at it…I didn’t think of taking a picture either. Sorry!

Baked Apples

Slice or dice as many apples as you want to eat.

Layer in one single layer in a baking dish (we used an 8×8 but I wonder if a cookie sheet would work).

Sprinkle with cinnamon and sugar. We used cinnamon and brown sugar. He also added some dried oatmeal on his portion of it (I wasn’t too fond of that, however.)

Bake, uncovered, at 425 for 30 mins or until at desired tenderness. Depending on how largely the pieces are cut, the cooking temperature or time will vary. Ours were large slices, and we baked them at 450 for 30 minutes. I think next time I’ll use smaller diced pieces, and try 400 or 425 and check on them frequently until I get it right. 🙂

Enjoy!!

Tonight at prayer time, I asked Liam what he was thankful for. He replied, “Well, I got to play my game (which is ALWAYS what he’s thankful for!!)….and the new food Daddy made.” It was really sweet, and really that good!

And not too horrible on the calories. If you figure on eating one apple, you are looking at 80 calories. Add in maybe 25 calories of sprinkled sugar, and you have a 100 calorie snack with fiber and hits your sweet tooth and is a warm snack on a cold fall day. It’s a win, win, win! 😉

Leave a Reply

